City of Acworth Notice for a General Election

Published On: September 14, 2023

The City of Acworth, Georgia will hold a General Election on TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2023, to elect the following positions elected at-large: Alderman Post 1, Alderman Post 2, and Alderman Post 3. For each office, the candidate receiving a majority of the votes cast shall be elected. Where no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast, a Runoff election shall be held on DECEMBER 5, 2023. The polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., and the election will be held at the following polling place:

ACWORTH 01: Acworth Community Center, 4361 Cherokee St., Acworth, GA 30101

Qualifying Candidates:  The following is a list of candidates who qualified for office during the qualifying period that was held on Monday, August 21, 2023, through Wednesday, August 23, 2023.

Alderman Post 1                            Aderman Post 2                 Alderman Post 3
Toby Carmichael                                 Kimberly Haase                      Brett North
Robert Lipham                                    Steve Prather

Residents of the City of Acworth may register to vote through the close of business Monday, October 10, 2023. Those who are qualified to register to vote for this election may do so at or by appearing in person at any of the designated places for registering Cobb County residents. If you have moved into, out of, or within the city limits of Acworth and have not notified the Cobb Board of Elections and Registration, please do so no later than October 10, 2023.

Advance Voting will be available between October 16 and November 3. A schedule is available on the website.

Absentee Voting is available through the Cobb County Elections Office. Applications for an Absentee Ballot can be found at and must be received by October 27. Applications may be submitted by mail to P.O. Box 649, Marietta, GA 30061-0649, by fax to 770-528-2458, or by scanning and emailing to  Absentee ballots must be received by 7:00 p.m. Tuesday, November 7, 2023, either through the mail or personally delivered.

City residents may call 770/528-2581 for any questions regarding registration or voting.


Regina R. Russell, City Clerk

Election Superintendent

Share this on Social Media