Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commissions is staffed by a City employee who assist in overseeing the City's Historic Properties. The three-member body is appointed for three-year terms by the Mayor and the Board of Aldermen. The HPC meets at the Acworth Community Center and is charged with carrying out the provisions of the Acworth Historic Preservation Ordinance, enacted in 1986. These duties include the designation and protection of historic districts and landmarks that are important to the cultural heritage of the community, which thereby maintains and improves property values in historic neighborhoods and stimulates the revitalization of the central business district.

All changes to properties in the Collins Avenue Historic District or individually-landmarked sites require a Certificate of Appropriateness, issued by the Historic Preservation Commission. To obtain an application and checklist for a Certificate of Appropriateness, please click the listing on the top right side of the page or contact City Staff at (770) 917-1234.

Are you an owner of a historic property? Historic Property owners can take advantage of tax credits for Historic Preservation. See our brochure on the Benefits and Procedures of Historic Districts and Landmarks.

Click here for the brochure

Tax Credits for Historic Preservation - The State of Georgia Code Section 48-7-29.8 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated offers income tax credits for certified rehabilitation of historic structures. House Bill 851 recently amended this code section to increase the tax credit for certified rehabilitation of historic structures.

To review past Historic Preservation Commission Agendas or Meeting Minutes, please click on the icon below.

To review the Historic Preservation Design Guidelines, please click on the icon below.

For additional information on historic preservation visit the websites below:

The Current Acworth Historic Preservation Commission Board Members are:

  • Liaison - Alderman Tim Richardson
  • Chairman - Trevor Beeman            
  • Vice Chair - Joan Chandler-Boyer
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Doug McKittrick
  • Cedric Jackson
  • Megan Strange

Acworth Historic Preservation Commission 2022 - Copy - Copy - Copy

The HPC meets quarterly on the fourth Thursday of the January, April, July and October at 12:00 p.m. at the Acworth Community Center.